wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

For monitor related issues
Post Reply
lautoine1
Posts: 12
Joined: October 2nd, 2008, 8:33 am
Location:

wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by lautoine1 » October 2nd, 2008, 8:48 pm

Hi everyone,

i just swap my chassis ( nanao+ ms9) on my astro city for a tri-sync wei-ya 3129 that i've bought 1 year ago from excellent.com.
i have successfuly tested it on my super neo 29 ( toshiba tube)that i've sold for now , but on my astro city ...all is ok except that i got no control of the width ... :roll: , the pic is too large and i cannot reduce it ( the control knob don't do any effect on the width except a few millimeter in the middle of the screen) . i have asked fannie , if she got more details on this chassis but apparently not ( on the documentation, 1 single paper where it's just written 3129 series ...and the knob identification)

if someone got an idea or have already seen this kind of problem ,please let me know 8-) ( MS9 + 3129 wei-ya), any kind of help will be appreciated

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4418
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by grantspain » October 2nd, 2008, 8:56 pm

which series 3129 chassis is important,if it a b then its for a high res yoke.
it should be a 3129a chassis for the ms9

lautoine1
Posts: 12
Joined: October 2nd, 2008, 8:33 am
Location:

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by lautoine1 » October 2nd, 2008, 9:47 pm

thanks for ur reply ...and there is no identification on this chassis, just a production number ... . i remember one year ago on killercab forum , i've bought to Craig a specific 3129 chassis for my universal cab ( for a sanwa tube) and this one is different, i believe that is a 3129A but no true identification sign ( maybe with the lopt number i can have a confirmation : 3121D ... )

maybe someone have also bought this kind of chassis from excellent.com , and can confirm that it's a 3129A , anyway i will try to post a pic tomorrow

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4418
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by grantspain » October 2nd, 2008, 10:29 pm

apart from a faulty width transistor the only other thing i can think of is that this chassis does not match the tube very well.

User avatar
ckong
Posts: 165
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 8:47 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by ckong » October 2nd, 2008, 11:31 pm

What a coincidence, today I and a few other cab lovers just ordered a few tri-sync chassis at excellentcom for a new astro city. They use the description "Chassis (15-31Hz ) Model 3129 Series for 29” CGA/EGA/VGA" in their parts list.

Because we wanted to be sure it was the correct model (3129A), and because Fannie couldn't help us very well as she just didn't know it, we did some research on our own. We found out that it had to be the modelnr. 666A-29 as mentioned in the technical documentation ( http://www.megaupload.com/nl/?d=JVK66ZHG) which we received from Excellentcom.

I then asked for confirmation from Fannie and she replied to me "Yes, can fit for the New astro city, yes the no. 666A-29."

So, if you see the number 666A-29 somewhere, your chassis should be fine. However, she didn't mention something about a width problem.

What's the exact reference code of your tube? Is it a Toshiba tube with reference code A68KJU96X?

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4418
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by grantspain » October 2nd, 2008, 11:42 pm

the 666a chassis is made by rodotron and is almost identical to the weiya 3129a chassis but for some components and custom ic

i know the 666a chassis works a treat on the sanwa 29es31s,sanwa pm1745,neotec 2702,nanao ms9 and works pretty good on the ms8

the weiya 3129a is meant to have a better tolerence on the yoke inductance than the 666a chassis so either your chassis has a width width fault or you have a different chassis

it should say on the label the yoke specs i.e Lh 0.330mh

User avatar
ckong
Posts: 165
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 8:47 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by ckong » October 3rd, 2008, 8:59 am

@grantspain, I saw a lot of your posts in other forums, and from what I've read I assume you have a lot of knowledge of (tri-sync) arcade monitors.

Could you perhaps give your opinion about the picture quality of tri-sync monitors in 15Khz mode, as I've read somewhere that this is not always as good as in two-sync or plain 15Khz monitors? Or does it depend on the chassis used?

lautoine1
Posts: 12
Joined: October 2nd, 2008, 8:33 am
Location:

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by lautoine1 » October 3rd, 2008, 9:21 am

;) ok here is some news ....i look closer to my chassis , and it really look like a 3129 wei-ya but there is a 666 number :twisted: on it , but ...without the magic letter A ..... . The picture quality is really good in 15Khz ....no trouble ..and in 31khz with a Japanese dreamcast + vga box ...the picture is also clear and crisp ...( very nice)

so my setup is : MS9-29S for the picture tube and a rodotron 666 that excellent sells under 3129 series name !!! :mrgreen: .Just remember that on my super Neo29 , this thing was working like a charm ...

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4418
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by grantspain » October 3rd, 2008, 9:29 am

turn down the 31khz b+ pot

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4418
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by grantspain » October 3rd, 2008, 9:46 am

as for tri syncs,if you just install a chassis it becomes a trade off-basically you will get various results from various chassis with various tube/yoke combo's using various boards
31k and 24k seem to come out fine,the problem only seems to happen on 15khz
the 666a chassis came off well on the sanwa 29es31s setup but still showed some side compression using a naomi set to 15khz interlaced

if you buy a complete monitor which has been set correctly by the manufacturer then it is unlikely for you to get such problems.

its all down to how the chassis is matched to the yoke/tube,and of course you have different tube types-semi flat,dyna flat,pure flat and curved

in my opinion if you play naomi games only then stay on 31khz and these chassis will look fine
if you play 15khz games then get a 15k or a 15/24k chassis-i know there is a dual sync sharp image chassis available that fit to almost all standard televisions and i am told the quality is up with the nanao ms9

i don't think any one who wants perfect geometry will ever be happy with a tri sync on 15khz

User avatar
ckong
Posts: 165
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 8:47 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by ckong » October 3rd, 2008, 10:26 am

grantspain wrote:as for tri syncs,if you just install a chassis it becomes a trade off-basically you will get various results from various chassis with various tube/yoke combo's using various boards
31k and 24k seem to come out fine,the problem only seems to happen on 15khz
the 666a chassis came off well on the sanwa 29es31s setup but still showed some side compression using a naomi set to 15khz interlaced

if you buy a complete monitor which has been set correctly by the manufacturer then it is unlikely for you to get such problems.

its all down to how the chassis is matched to the yoke/tube,and of course you have different tube types-semi flat,dyna flat,pure flat and curved

in my opinion if you play naomi games only then stay on 31khz and these chassis will look fine
if you play 15khz games then get a 15k or a 15/24k chassis-i know there is a dual sync sharp image chassis available that fit to almost all standard televisions and i am told the quality is up with the nanao ms9

i don't think any one who wants perfect geometry will ever be happy with a tri sync on 15khz
I have a new astro city with a toshiba tube (the original setup). I also have a few arcade game pcb's and a few MVS games, which all operate on 15Khz. And I have connected a Mame PC (with arcadevga on 15 Khz) and a few consoles (DC, saturn, PSX and PS2) via a homemade console2jamma converter to the cab.

My considerations to upgrade the cab with a tri-sync chassis are mostly to have a more crispy picture (no scanlines) with a DC, PS2 and Mame (with a normal video card, also able to play (pc-)games which demand high video processing capabilities), and to be able to easily connect other consoles like the Gamecube and the XBOX.

I might also use this device for some of my consoles, like the PS2 and the Gamecube (I have VGA cables for the XBOX and the DC and component cables for the Gamecube and PS2): http://www.hdboxpro.com/eng/public.htm. It got some good user 'reviews'.

I would say that justifies a small investment in a tr-sync chassis, don't you agree? And if I don't like it, I will go back to the original setup and sell the tri-sync chassis.

User avatar
Pat70
Posts: 94
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:18 pm
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by Pat70 » October 24th, 2008, 3:38 pm

grantspain wrote: i know the 666a chassis works a treat on the sanwa 29es31s,sanwa pm1745,neotec 2702,nanao ms9 and works pretty good on the ms8
Pretty good, but not as good as on the ms9? what is the difference in picture quality between the ms8 and ms9 after trisync chassis replacement? I am about to have the chassis replaced on my ms8 with a Rodotron 666a I recently purchased from Craig, but only if its worth it offcourse. Anyone here have a trisync'd ms8?

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4418
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by grantspain » October 24th, 2008, 8:23 pm

yep i tested the 666a chassis on ms8-29fan setup daytona usa and it looked fine on 24khz,i expect it will be almost identical to the ms9 on other frequencies but as i did not test them i cannot comment,i sort of mis-wrote my last statement as i meant to say it works pretty good on 24khz ms8

User avatar
Pat70
Posts: 94
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:18 pm
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by Pat70 » October 24th, 2008, 9:25 pm

Sounds good enough for me. :)

Ordyne
Posts: 72
Joined: October 9th, 2008, 9:09 am
Location: Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Re: wei-ya 3129/astrocity : witdh problem

Post by Ordyne » October 31st, 2008, 9:29 pm

lautoine1 wrote:Hi everyone,

i just swap my chassis ( nanao+ ms9) on my astro city for a tri-sync wei-ya 3129 that i've bought 1 year ago from excellent.com.
i have successfuly tested it on my super neo 29 ( toshiba tube)that i've sold for now , but on my astro city ...all is ok except that i got no control of the width ... :roll: , the pic is too large and i cannot reduce it ( the control knob don't do any effect on the width except a few millimeter in the middle of the screen) . i have asked fannie , if she got more details on this chassis but apparently not ( on the documentation, 1 single paper where it's just written 3129 series ...and the knob identification)

if someone got an idea or have already seen this kind of problem ,please let me know 8-) ( MS9 + 3129 wei-ya), any kind of help will be appreciated
Sounds like you have a faulty chassis if you cannot adjust the width...
Craig Walker • Giz10p • http://www.giz10p.co.uk

Specialists In Amusement Equipment Spares & Repairs

Post Reply