Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

For monitor related issues
Post Reply
woodhouse204
Posts: 16
Joined: February 14th, 2009, 12:06 am
Location: Bury, Manchester

Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by woodhouse204 » February 15th, 2009, 3:43 pm

Hi there guys, not sure if anyone here remembers me, I was part of the Egret 2/Windy order from the KC forums a while back.

Anyway, down to business. I finally managed to get a place that would hold my Windy, so I split it up and transported it to my new house, only problem is when I came to put it back together the screen looks like this:-

Image

It also produces a sort of fizzy, high pitched squeal.

Theres a chance I didnt put it back together right, but theres always the chance that its something more serious, so Id appreciate if you guys could tell me if I should be worried, or im an idiot for screwing up putting it back together.

Oh, and bonus points if you can guess what the screen is MEANT to be.

Cheers

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4498
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by grantspain » February 15th, 2009, 3:55 pm

you need to check the monitor video input plug is in correctly,also check your remote adjustments board is correct

check your adjustment board to see if any pots make a difference

basically go over every monitor plug and if need be post loads of photos of the monitor connections

other thing that could cause this is a bad solder connection on the monitor

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12735
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by cools » February 15th, 2009, 4:16 pm

I can see the problem, it's a Windy that isn't in tate ;)

I'm hugely jealous - hope you get it fixed!
Image

woodhouse204
Posts: 16
Joined: February 14th, 2009, 12:06 am
Location: Bury, Manchester

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by woodhouse204 » February 15th, 2009, 5:56 pm

Thanks Grantspain, im assuming the remote adjustments are the connections underneath the CP? They are connected as far I can tell and the pots next to them dont make any big difference to the picture.
Inside is a different matter, ever since I got it and asked Mr Meg if it was safe to go poking around inside I have feared for my life! Ill take some pictures of the story in there.

Thanks a lot for the help, when I came looking for the KC forums and couldnt find you guys I thought I was screwed!

Oh and Cools, no need to be that jealous, right now its pretty much a big coaster with pretty lights on :D

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4498
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by grantspain » February 15th, 2009, 6:01 pm

when you said you had this cab apart can you explain exactly what was done

Mellor
Posts: 222
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:20 pm
Location: Wakefield
Initials: MEL

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by Mellor » February 15th, 2009, 7:50 pm

I'm guessing the screen is supposed to be a Win XP Desktop. Was there not someone on here that kept frying their HOT by outputting an unsuitable frequency to the monitor? Could different damage be caused to a different chassis?

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4498
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by grantspain » February 15th, 2009, 7:59 pm

Mellor wrote:I'm guessing the screen is supposed to be a Win XP Desktop. Was there not someone on here that kept frying their HOT by outputting an unsuitable frequency to the monitor? Could different damage be caused to a different chassis?
if that is windows then that will not work and possibly fry the hot,thats why we need real concrete info

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12735
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by cools » February 15th, 2009, 8:00 pm

Mellor wrote:I'm guessing the screen is supposed to be a Win XP Desktop. Was there not someone on here that kept frying their HOT by outputting an unsuitable frequency to the monitor? Could different damage be caused to a different chassis?
*Waves*

The signals I was sending were WAY out of spec for anything though ;)
Image

Mellor
Posts: 222
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:20 pm
Location: Wakefield
Initials: MEL

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by Mellor » February 15th, 2009, 8:07 pm

cools wrote:
Mellor wrote:I'm guessing the screen is supposed to be a Win XP Desktop. Was there not someone on here that kept frying their HOT by outputting an unsuitable frequency to the monitor? Could different damage be caused to a different chassis?
*Waves*

The signals I was sending were WAY out of spec for anything though ;)
It wasn't you I meant Cools mate. Somebody with a Pentranic chassis if I recall.

But there wouldn't be a problem Grant if they were using an Arcade Vga or the like would there? I'm about to directly connect a PC to my Naomi Uni but have changed to 640 x 460 60hz setting on the graphics card. I'm glad for once it isn't a Hantarex monitor, they seem to Arc towards me the moment I enter any room with one in!

woodhouse204
Posts: 16
Joined: February 14th, 2009, 12:06 am
Location: Bury, Manchester

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by woodhouse204 » February 15th, 2009, 8:44 pm

By apart, I had to seperate the cab into two to get it in/out of houses. The monitor, and electrics inside formed one part, the CP and the base in the other. The only wires I had to disconnect to get them apart were the grounds on top of the coin box, the monitor control wires on the CP, and two wires coming from the coin op mech.

And yes I am using an Arcade Vga and jpac, its been fine for a year or so (with very light use, once every couple of months or so) and has only caused this kind of problem after I moved the cab.

Like I said ill get some pics of the insides as soon as, thanks again.

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4498
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by grantspain » February 15th, 2009, 8:54 pm

also make sure your vga card had not become slightly displaced

woodhouse204
Posts: 16
Joined: February 14th, 2009, 12:06 am
Location: Bury, Manchester

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by woodhouse204 » February 15th, 2009, 10:07 pm

Checked, I got some pics of the inside:-

Image
Pic of the main board above the coin op 1

Image
Pic of the main board 2

Image
The bits that arent connected to anything right now

Image

Image
The board connected to the monitor

Image
More monitor board

Hope this sheads some light.

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4498
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by grantspain » February 15th, 2009, 10:24 pm

there is a plug off of position in pic 2 P205A,plug that back in--near middle top of pic

woodhouse204
Posts: 16
Joined: February 14th, 2009, 12:06 am
Location: Bury, Manchester

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by woodhouse204 » February 15th, 2009, 10:31 pm

Please excuse me for the following caps:-

IT LIVESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ****ING HELL IT LIVES!!!!

So yeah... its working now, thanks a lot for that.
Erm, anything I can do for you maybe? :D

Seriously, thanks a lot for that. I was getting really irate about the whole thing, I threw my touch phone across the room this morning, they dont make them like they used to...

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4498
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by grantspain » February 15th, 2009, 10:35 pm

just really glad to help mate,congrats :awe:

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4857
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: Konami Windy + N00b = Broke...

Post by Devil Soundwave » February 15th, 2009, 11:08 pm

Grant to the rescue again! :D

Post Reply