Problem with Nanao monitor

For monitor related issues
Post Reply
Arcadeben
Posts: 13
Joined: December 6th, 2008, 6:36 pm
Location:

Problem with Nanao monitor

Post by Arcadeben » December 8th, 2008, 11:05 pm

Hello,
I am having a problem with my monitor. It is a nanao ms9-29a chassis on a toshiba a68kju96x tube. I plugged in a board that had a multi freq output and accidentally switched it to 31khz(doh!!). Now the screen is distorted and wavy at times.
here are pics of the distortion as well as I could adjust to compensate for. The right side is the side that is distorted, particularly in the upper right hand corner..

Image

and
Image

I would just like to know from someone with more experience if they think a cap kit would solve this problem. I am considering the tri rez Dmauro put the instructions up for, but even if I do that I think that if I can fix the original chassis, I would enjoy the challenge and do that as well.

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4498
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Problem with Nanao monitor

Post by grantspain » December 8th, 2008, 11:18 pm

oh thats not good,normally input of 31khz kills the hot but you have what seems to be a sync problem
maybe u550 is damaged
have you lost width as well if so check d502

Arcadeben
Posts: 13
Joined: December 6th, 2008, 6:36 pm
Location:

Re: Problem with Nanao monitor

Post by Arcadeben » December 9th, 2008, 2:56 pm

Thank you very much Grantspain, I was hoping you would respond :D . I have width control. I will check on u550 when I pull the chasis. Your help is much appreciated.

Arcadeben
Posts: 13
Joined: December 6th, 2008, 6:36 pm
Location:

Re: Problem with Nanao monitor

Post by Arcadeben » February 11th, 2009, 10:14 pm

To give an update to those who were watching. I had no width problems and successfully replaced u550 with a new part. The image looks better, however the problem is still there.

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4498
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Problem with Nanao monitor

Post by grantspain » February 11th, 2009, 10:32 pm

does the SPC adjustment work at all?

Arcadeben
Posts: 13
Joined: December 6th, 2008, 6:36 pm
Location:

Re: Problem with Nanao monitor

Post by Arcadeben » February 12th, 2009, 4:02 pm

Thanks for the reply, yes, the spc adjustment is working.

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4498
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Problem with Nanao monitor

Post by grantspain » February 12th, 2009, 5:31 pm

i will have a think on this but for sure something has shorted due to the signal frequency
something like this i never have encountered as i have never put a 31khz into a dual sync chassis
i think it will turn out to be a bloody silly thing in the end

User avatar
dmauro
Posts: 383
Joined: August 28th, 2008, 4:15 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Problem with Nanao monitor

Post by dmauro » February 12th, 2009, 5:50 pm

I'm sure it's an entirely different situation, but I've put a 31KHz signal into my ms8-29a many times and never had any trouble for it.

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4498
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Problem with Nanao monitor

Post by grantspain » February 12th, 2009, 8:00 pm

hang on,i think there is a sync switch on the controls board-you have not switched that have you?

Arcadeben
Posts: 13
Joined: December 6th, 2008, 6:36 pm
Location:

Re: Problem with Nanao monitor

Post by Arcadeben » February 12th, 2009, 9:45 pm

Thanks for all the replies. No there isn't a sync switch on my control board. The problem ocurred after I had switched a board to 31khz. So no adjustments were made, that would cause this problem.

Post Reply