Nanao MS9 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

For monitor related issues
User avatar
dmauro
Posts: 383
Joined: August 28th, 2008, 4:15 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by dmauro »

That's funny, astrocitizen was thinking of buying my chassis and I sent him a pic and he said the same thing. I'm going to check out the tube and chassis and I'll post some model numbers.
User avatar
dmauro
Posts: 383
Joined: August 28th, 2008, 4:15 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by dmauro »

Where on the chassis do I find the model number?
User avatar
robotype
Posts: 93
Joined: April 27th, 2009, 9:11 am
Location: Milano
eBay: toy_pop

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by robotype »

you don't find it, just look at the pictures at jomac

the crt usually have a sticker on the back with a code
for example A68KJU96X (4K) is the code I found on astro city toshiba tubes with ms8 chassis
User avatar
geotrig
Potato!
Posts: 6667
Joined: December 5th, 2008, 1:14 pm
Location: ._.
eBay: ._.

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by geotrig »

grantspain wrote:i am gonna get on to sega next week to see if they will give me every schem/manual all the way back to ms8 chassis-about time they helped out the fellas that fix all their gear
How did that work out any joy !
Image

<trk>:I remember catching a big fat one and my friend said "throw it back in, that one already tastes like wood"
User avatar
dmauro
Posts: 383
Joined: August 28th, 2008, 4:15 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by dmauro »

robotype wrote:you don't find it, just look at the pictures at jomac
What's jomac?
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4539
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by grantspain »

dmauro wrote:
robotype wrote:you don't find it, just look at the pictures at jomac
What's jomac?
http://www.jomac.net.au/mon.htm
User avatar
dmauro
Posts: 383
Joined: August 28th, 2008, 4:15 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by dmauro »

Oh wow, it looks like you guys were totally right. Mine looks like the MS9-29A. So how does an original Astro City end up with MS9s? Maybe Sega had the shells laying around after the NACs were already being made? :?
User avatar
robotype
Posts: 93
Joined: April 27th, 2009, 9:11 am
Location: Milano
eBay: toy_pop

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by robotype »

I think it's more like later astros already had new ms9 or it was changed when serviced in japan, maybe it was cheaper than repairing it. what is the tube number?
User avatar
dmauro
Posts: 383
Joined: August 28th, 2008, 4:15 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by dmauro »

Toshiba A68KJU96X
E39164
LR27012
5E

Those are all the numbers on the sticker on the tube. :)
User avatar
robotype
Posts: 93
Joined: April 27th, 2009, 9:11 am
Location: Milano
eBay: toy_pop

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by robotype »

the number in the circle is 5E? Ihad 3L on the astro with MS8 and 4K on another tube maybe from sega rally with ms9

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/4417/dsc00447.jpg
http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/2773/dsc00444.jpg

I wonder if those codes are to identify the yoke impedence or what else
User avatar
dmauro
Posts: 383
Joined: August 28th, 2008, 4:15 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by dmauro »

That's correct. Interesting that the 3L tube doesn't have those other two numbers.
User avatar
dmauro
Posts: 383
Joined: August 28th, 2008, 4:15 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Nanao MS9 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by dmauro »

I have both cabs horizontal this weekend because I had a day of fighting games yesterday with some buddies, and in 15KHz, both monitors look excellent. When I play 31Khz games, however, the cab that I was having some noise problems with before is having trouble with black (I think it's always had this problem and I just didn't notice because I usually play 15Khz on this one). The black is a little too light, so the contrast just doesn't look as good as it does on other. In 15KHz, this isn't a problem, so I don't want to mess with the screen volts or sub-contrast pots. Would this be a problem with the VR3 31KHz B+ pot on the mainboard possibly? What does that one do exactly? Thanks for any help.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4539
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Nanao MS9 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by grantspain »

change the switch to 0.75 on the remote board or take down the screen volts a fraction-don't touch the b+
User avatar
dmauro
Posts: 383
Joined: August 28th, 2008, 4:15 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Nanao MS9 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by dmauro »

The switch on the remote board is all set (it's default is 0.75 and I only switch to 1 when I'm mirroring the video to both cabs since it drops in intensity). If I take down the screen volts, the 15Khz won't look perfect anymore. I'd rather have the 15KHz look good, but I'm hoping there's a solution that works for both that doesn't mean changing the screen volts when switching from 15 to 31.
User avatar
CPS2
Street Fighter
Posts: 2003
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 10:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: Nanao MS9 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by CPS2 »

Great guide. I've just gone the opposite way round, 3129A back to MS9. 15K goodness, perfect geo and colours :awe:
User avatar
robotype
Posts: 93
Joined: April 27th, 2009, 9:11 am
Location: Milano
eBay: toy_pop

Re: Nanao MS9 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by robotype »

CPS2 wrote:Great guide. I've just gone the opposite way round, 3129A back to MS9. 15K goodness, perfect geo and colours :awe:
can you tell me the code of your tube/yoke?
User avatar
VIDEOTRONICS
Posts: 87
Joined: January 5th, 2009, 12:14 pm
Location: NORTH UK
eBay: VIDEOTRONICSUK
Initials: MHP

Re: Nanao MS9 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by VIDEOTRONICS »

hi

im selling nanao used tubes with new tri sync rodotron chassis complete working 29in £245ea
User avatar
VIDEOTRONICS
Posts: 87
Joined: January 5th, 2009, 12:14 pm
Location: NORTH UK
eBay: VIDEOTRONICSUK
Initials: MHP

Re: Nanao MS8 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by VIDEOTRONICS »

hi

which cap needs changing on rodotron for horizontal width?
User avatar
monouchi
Polishing his shaft
Posts: 1120
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 6:16 pm
Location: Sweden
eBay: monouchi_jn
Initials: BUS

Re: Nanao MS9 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by monouchi »

I have to say thanks to this thread and dmauro.
Lots of info and help. :D

This was my first time meddling inside a monitor and I put a Tri-sync Rodotron 666A-29 together with my Egret II MS9 Toshiba tube.

After some tweaking the geometry is incredible and colors good.
Here are some pics of Xbox360 running in 640-480 res.

(Beware of my bad camera though, picture looks alot better IRL.)
User avatar
zorahk
AO Awards 2009 Winner
Posts: 510
Joined: September 9th, 2009, 1:48 am
Location:

Re: Nanao MS9 to Wei Ya 3129A Chassis Swap Guide

Post by zorahk »

that actually came out really nice, would still prefer to use arcade pcb over 360 though :P
хорошо!
Post Reply