Ditching the Astro City/NAC Power Supply

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Post Reply
Samelak
Posts: 11
Joined: February 15th, 2019, 11:02 am
Location: Japan
eBay: Samelak

Ditching the Astro City/NAC Power Supply

Post by Samelak » February 18th, 2019, 10:21 am

So I already have a thread going for some help getting a power supply to work and I just received 2 more power supplies today that blow fuses instantly. Not to mention I had a Astro a few years back that kept blowing fuses. In fact I traded it for a gutted, ugly Defender cab out of anger. So here I am again. Has anyone converted their Astro to a modern JAMMA switcher? I know I'll have to mount service and test switches. I'm not sure what I will need to do about the degauss. Does the degauss button simply close the circuit on the monitor chassis or is there circuitry in the PSUs that I need to copy? Also, just making sure, but the NANAO MS9 doesn't use a isolation transformer?

User avatar
zipper
Posts: 119
Joined: March 20th, 2015, 11:47 am
Location: Southend on Sea
eBay: bazpatts
Initials: BAZ

Re: Ditching the Astro City/NAC Power Supply

Post by zipper » February 18th, 2019, 10:47 am


Samelak
Posts: 11
Joined: February 15th, 2019, 11:02 am
Location: Japan
eBay: Samelak

Re: Ditching the Astro City/NAC Power Supply

Post by Samelak » February 18th, 2019, 11:56 am

Awesome...thanks!

UPDATE: Just completed the mod and works as advertised. I'm never going back to stock PSU!

User avatar
zipper
Posts: 119
Joined: March 20th, 2015, 11:47 am
Location: Southend on Sea
eBay: bazpatts
Initials: BAZ

Re: Ditching the Astro City/NAC Power Supply

Post by zipper » February 28th, 2019, 4:29 pm

Good to know it worked - thanks for the update.

Post Reply