Egret 2 Earthing

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Post Reply
User avatar
Andypc
Posts: 337
Joined: November 9th, 2008, 11:30 pm
Location: Ilford, Essex
eBay: Andyapc
Initials: APC

Egret 2 Earthing

Post by Andypc » July 20th, 2014, 3:32 pm

Just getting ready to put the loom back into my Egret 2 after having it painted. Looking back at the photo's I have taken, I can not see how the earth is connected! The earth from the main power cable to the power board looks like it's not connected to anything.
There is an earth cable from the power board to the back of the cab, but that's it. How should the cab be earthed? Is the monitor earthed on the Egret 2's?
“You can have it any colour you want, so long as it’s black.” Henry Ford
Wanted:- Tehkan World Cup cab

User avatar
ArcadeSTG
Posts: 375
Joined: October 25th, 2010, 4:00 pm
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by ArcadeSTG » July 20th, 2014, 7:57 pm

Look at the next picture, the big grey cable is the main power cable of my EII. Check the smal yellow-green cable, it comes from the main power cable and it goes to the EII chasis.

Image
A piece of Akihabara in your Home?
http://akihabarainhome.com

User avatar
Andypc
Posts: 337
Joined: November 9th, 2008, 11:30 pm
Location: Ilford, Essex
eBay: Andyapc
Initials: APC

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by Andypc » July 20th, 2014, 11:08 pm

Thanks. Would you mind taking a few more pictures. I can only one see earthing cable in the picture attached to the bottom of the cab. Where does the earth cable from the chassis run to and from and where does it connect with the mains earth.
“You can have it any colour you want, so long as it’s black.” Henry Ford
Wanted:- Tehkan World Cup cab

User avatar
ArcadeSTG
Posts: 375
Joined: October 25th, 2010, 4:00 pm
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by ArcadeSTG » July 20th, 2014, 11:17 pm

The earth cable is attached to the bottom of the cab. This earth cable goes to the third pin of the AC connector of EII. Then the AC connector is plugged into a socket that goes to a transformer. The transformer goes to the main curren of the home.

Image
A piece of Akihabara in your Home?
http://akihabarainhome.com

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12723
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by cools » July 20th, 2014, 11:21 pm

That transformer isn't stock.
Image

User avatar
CTN
Posts: 905
Joined: March 17th, 2011, 2:17 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany (South Africa for now)
eBay: ctn2005
Initials: CTN

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by CTN » July 20th, 2014, 11:38 pm

cools wrote:That transformer isn't stock.
But how else will you get the voltage down to 100V? I think this is a very neat solution and it looks miles better than the transformer I have in my Astro City installed.

Back on topic: Shouldn't every metal part (CP, feet, coin mech, etc.) have a connection to earth?

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12723
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by cools » July 21st, 2014, 7:57 am

Its fine, but it doesn't help someone with a stock E2 wire things as they were originally - there are likely other changes that were done for the transformer to be fitted (changes required for it to be switchable from the E2 power switch)
Image

User avatar
ArcadeSTG
Posts: 375
Joined: October 25th, 2010, 4:00 pm
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by ArcadeSTG » July 21st, 2014, 8:37 am

I am affraid I don't understand you cools.

In the pictures the power supply is stock. To the best of my knowledge, all the wiring is stock. The black transformer is obviously not stock but it is something you need to use a japanese cab in europe.
A piece of Akihabara in your Home?
http://akihabarainhome.com

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12723
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by cools » July 21st, 2014, 1:20 pm

I have done the modification to install an internal stepdown into an E2 controlled by the power switch on the bottom of the cabinet.

You *can* simply slap a transformer in on the mains power line that *isn't* wired to the power switch, and use an external mains switch (in the UK we have switches on the sockets) simply by cutting the mains supply cable and attaching it to the transformer. But if you have wired it to the power switch you need to modify the cabinet wiring to ensure you don't have the monitor powered permanently and all the earthing is correct. It's not a simple "this wire goes here" mod.

If the cabinet with the transformer in has the power switch working correctly then it is wired differently to a stock E2 and it is not safe to simply copy how it looks, you need to be able to work out what should go where yourself.
Image

User avatar
Andypc
Posts: 337
Joined: November 9th, 2008, 11:30 pm
Location: Ilford, Essex
eBay: Andyapc
Initials: APC

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by Andypc » July 21st, 2014, 8:37 pm

A coulple of people have said that the stock Egret 2's are not properly earthed. There was a screw just to the right of the power supply that looked like it might be the place to attach the mains earth to the body of the cab. I have done that and run two further earth cables from there. One to the base of the power supply and one to the frame if the monitor chassis. Cab all up and running ok.
“You can have it any colour you want, so long as it’s black.” Henry Ford
Wanted:- Tehkan World Cup cab

User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6341
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Initials: JOR

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by emphatic » July 24th, 2014, 5:19 pm

I'd love to see someone use the drawings in the manual to point out where earth wiring should be optimally placed.

In one of my EGRET IIs, I can feel small currents sometimes when I switch games with power to my stepdown, but the cabinet's power switch turned off. This cabinet does have earth wiring. In my other EGRET II, this has never happened, and it doesn't have any earth wiring. :think:

User avatar
urbanledge
Posts: 116
Joined: January 12th, 2013, 11:07 pm
Location: Naas,Ireland

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by urbanledge » July 26th, 2014, 4:41 pm

I don't think stock ones are earthed properly.
I'm pretty sure I seen a diagram somewhere of an earth coming out of the wall separately and looped between a line of cabs. That could of been in the blast city manual. Anyway I used to get a good few volts between my e2 and blast city cps

User avatar
Monstermug
Posts: 101
Joined: March 13th, 2011, 11:18 pm
Location: London, UK
eBay: Monstermug
Initials: SON

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by Monstermug » July 27th, 2014, 1:52 am

Andypc wrote:A coulple of people have said that the stock Egret 2's are not properly earthed. There was a screw just to the right of the power supply that looked like it might be the place to attach the mains earth to the body of the cab. I have done that and run two further earth cables from there. One to the base of the power supply and one to the frame if the monitor chassis. Cab all up and running ok.
I know you just painted your E2 so you might want to ensure that there is no paint preventing continuity to the earths. IIRC the Frame of the chassis should be automatically connected to the whole frame so only the screw next to the power supply is needed to be earthed.

User avatar
pubjoe
Fosters Political Ambitions
Posts: 9755
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 8:58 am
Location:

Re: Egret 2 Earthing

Post by pubjoe » July 27th, 2014, 2:32 pm

urbanledge wrote:I'm pretty sure I seen a diagram somewhere of an earth coming out of the wall separately and looped between a line of cabs.
Ralph was telling me about that. That's why the earth is kept separate. They wire them all to one loop to prevent interference between the cabs (and maybe those little cross-shocks you sometimes get by touching the metal cases of two separate circuits).

Maybe why that's one of the reasons why the West used wood cabinets. We'd have **** up the wiring of metal ones.

Post Reply