Sega Touring car Upright issue

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
shoryu
Posts: 21
Joined: January 24th, 2012, 7:26 pm
Location:

Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by shoryu » November 25th, 2012, 10:53 pm

Guys,
just bought a Sega touring car upright.
Saw it working from buyer but now I've collected it I'm having issues...thought it was a cable loose from transport but after hours of scratching my head and checking connections I'm stumped
I'm not familar with these JVS cabs at all so please be patient.
Cab powers up but I'm only getting static to monitor.No leds lighting on sound board/main board or amp( i think this is one with digital number display?)...so no sound either.

Does power from PSU go straight to main board first and then distribute to other boards???
If so is it only 5V DC as i can't see any other voltage inputs to main board cage.
Also seems to be some filter board between main board and PSU!!! god knows what this does..it's not the line in filter or iso transformer

purplec
Posts: 606
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by purplec » November 26th, 2012, 10:27 am

Touring car is model 3 not jvs, the power should be +3.3v +5v and +12. A few pictures of the internals might help with the diagnosis, hopefully it's just a loose connection from transport.

shoryu
Posts: 21
Joined: January 24th, 2012, 7:26 pm
Location:

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by shoryu » November 26th, 2012, 4:26 pm

Purple...you pop upon many forums!
Yeah thanks...I'm hoping its a connection loose but I've checked everything.
Unless I'm blind and missing something...which could well be the case.
Anyway I'll take a few snaps ...cheers

User avatar
Rossyra
Supermod
Posts: 8275
Joined: February 12th, 2009, 1:24 am
Location: UK

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by Rossyra » November 26th, 2012, 4:38 pm

He's everywhere like rain... purplec rain.
Image

User avatar
andygeezer
Blue Skies Ahead
Posts: 2501
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 12:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Initials: AGS

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by andygeezer » November 26th, 2012, 7:10 pm

purplec wrote:Touring car is model 3 not jvs, the power should be +3.3v +5v and +12. A few pictures of the internals might help with the diagnosis, hopefully it's just a loose connection from transport.
It is model 2c check the 5v on the PSU.
Say hello to my little friend...
Image

User avatar
Spectre
By Spectre
Posts: 1764
Joined: January 22nd, 2009, 5:42 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK
eBay: spectre-uk
Initials: JIM

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by Spectre » November 26th, 2012, 7:23 pm

Rossyra wrote:He's everywhere like rain... purplec rain.
Image

:awe:
Last edited by Spectre on November 27th, 2012, 1:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rossyra
Supermod
Posts: 8275
Joined: February 12th, 2009, 1:24 am
Location: UK

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by Rossyra » November 26th, 2012, 7:27 pm

Spectre wrote:
Rossyra wrote:He's everywhere like rain... purplec rain.
Image

:awe:
fixed. :)
Image

purplec
Posts: 606
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by purplec » November 26th, 2012, 9:46 pm

andygeezer wrote:
purplec wrote:Touring car is model 3 not jvs, the power should be +3.3v +5v and +12. A few pictures of the internals might help with the diagnosis, hopefully it's just a loose connection from transport.
It is model 2c check the 5v on the PSU.
Oops Andy your right sorry about that need more sleep, for some reason I was thinking of Le Man instead.

User avatar
Spectre
By Spectre
Posts: 1764
Joined: January 22nd, 2009, 5:42 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK
eBay: spectre-uk
Initials: JIM

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by Spectre » November 27th, 2012, 1:08 am

Rossyra wrote:fixed. :)
:palm:

shoryu
Posts: 21
Joined: January 24th, 2012, 7:26 pm
Location:

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by shoryu » November 28th, 2012, 7:27 pm

thanks lads..heres a few pics.
Have to get a multimeter so still really guessing.
So marquee and monitor power up but I presume that's because they take AC power straight from iso transformer yeah.
So issue must be with PSU or before..
Whats the story with power distribution board with fuse attached..marquee and monitor go from iso to this and then out so I presume this is ok?
I'm thinking PSU itself is goosed...no noise or anything from it..is there meant to be? seems to be just 5V DC(lots of them) and 12VDC going from PSU to main board.
Has anyone seen any manuals for these,or equivelant..I found one but wiring schematics are eligible.
Thanks again and sorry for spastic questions :)

main power board assy
Image

A/C input to PSU
Image

Image

PSU
Image

Image

It's home once working :)
Image

shoryu
Posts: 21
Joined: January 24th, 2012, 7:26 pm
Location:

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by shoryu » December 11th, 2012, 8:52 pm

So it turns out its My psu that's done for..
100VAC coming in but nothing coming out,I've checked the fuse inside and It's fine.
So where is the best place to get a new PSU ..model 2 or normal if needs be?
seems to just have normal AC input and +12V and +5V DC output

I'd really like to get one thats drop in and play as these sega Model 2 ones have AMP UP connections and there is around 50 wires going into them.
If not I will have to settle for a normal one and crimp on pins/Amp up connectors but it would be a pain.
Pics of PSU below
Image


Image

User avatar
thechop
Not as old as Ralph
Posts: 1307
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 1:17 pm
Location: Wubbly Wolverhampton.

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by thechop » December 11th, 2012, 9:47 pm

The type sega use for model 3 might be your best bet, more than up to the job and your connectors might slot straight in, have to check what goes where but might only have to swap a few wires about.
kernow wrote:
Cmon chop I wanna see your manly bricklayer arms.

User avatar
andygeezer
Blue Skies Ahead
Posts: 2501
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 12:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Initials: AGS

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by andygeezer » December 12th, 2012, 9:58 am

thechop wrote:The type sega use for model 3 might be your best bet, more than up to the job and your connectors might slot straight in, have to check what goes where but might only have to swap a few wires about.
Would not recommend a used m3 PSU personally.
Say hello to my little friend...
Image

User avatar
thechop
Not as old as Ralph
Posts: 1307
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 1:17 pm
Location: Wubbly Wolverhampton.

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by thechop » December 12th, 2012, 10:27 am

andygeezer wrote:
thechop wrote:The type sega use for model 3 might be your best bet, more than up to the job and your connectors might slot straight in, have to check what goes where but might only have to swap a few wires about.
Would not recommend a used m3 PSU personally.
No? was thinking of ease of finding oneand easier to rewire for the fella, they no good for M2 then?
kernow wrote:
Cmon chop I wanna see your manly bricklayer arms.

User avatar
andygeezer
Blue Skies Ahead
Posts: 2501
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 12:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Initials: AGS

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by andygeezer » December 12th, 2012, 10:59 am

thechop wrote:
andygeezer wrote:
thechop wrote:The type sega use for model 3 might be your best bet, more than up to the job and your connectors might slot straight in, have to check what goes where but might only have to swap a few wires about.
Would not recommend a used m3 PSU personally.
No? was thinking of ease of finding oneand easier to rewire for the fella, they no good for M2 then?
just find many model 3 psu's prone to killing boards these days - constantly need to check the voltages with a multi-meter.
Say hello to my little friend...
Image

User avatar
thechop
Not as old as Ralph
Posts: 1307
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 1:17 pm
Location: Wubbly Wolverhampton.

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by thechop » December 12th, 2012, 11:09 am

[/quote]

No? was thinking of ease of finding oneand easier to rewire for the fella, they no good for M2 then?[/quote]

just find many model 3 psu's prone to killing boards these days - constantly need to check the voltages with a multi-meter.[/quote]

Oh right, looks like they are coming to the end of their working life then :( you are right though I guess a brand new one would always be the best option tbh rather than a psu with potentially many many hours of continuous use.
kernow wrote:
Cmon chop I wanna see your manly bricklayer arms.

shoryu
Posts: 21
Joined: January 24th, 2012, 7:26 pm
Location:

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by shoryu » December 12th, 2012, 6:25 pm

Cheers lads so probably better to just get regular PSU and crimp
All the 5v and 12v into amp up connectors so...ahhh i hate crimping those pins!!!
Where is the best place to get psu's on line.
Also a regular one will do yeah...or should one with a bit of juice for the model 2 board.
Thanks again

shoryu
Posts: 21
Joined: January 24th, 2012, 7:26 pm
Location:

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by shoryu » December 13th, 2012, 9:46 pm

will this do the job?, Albeit wire hacking to the many +5,ground and 12V connections to the model 2 board.

http://www.gremlinsolutions.co.uk/produ ... apower.htm

User avatar
Jamtex
Posts: 100
Joined: May 20th, 2011, 9:10 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by Jamtex » December 18th, 2012, 9:24 am

Most PSUs, do have a fuse inside them. I would open it up, look for a fuse near the power input (it will probably be marked F1) and use a multimeter to test continuity. It could be there is other problems on the board and the fuse may blow again, but it is worth checking.

The Daytona USA I have had a blown fuse and replacing it with a fuse holder and a fuse cost about a pound and it has been working happily for the last two years...
A:>

shoryu
Posts: 21
Joined: January 24th, 2012, 7:26 pm
Location:

Re: Sega Touring car Upright issue

Post by shoryu » January 11th, 2013, 8:40 pm

OK so I got a second hand PSU for the cab,dropped it in and...AHHHHHHHH same results.
LED on psu doesn't light up.
Checked power going to PSU and it's fluctuating from 97-98VAC when measured with a Multimeter
Should work no?
I really need help here as I am flumoxed.ARGGGGGGGhhh
So checked all voltages and basically they are all sound. 220VAC goes into the iso transformer..which is also a step down on these sega cabs.
heres a pic of it...
Image

you can see on sticker that output on yellow should be 100V , its 97-98VAC.

those live and neutral go staight into power distribution block below and then straight to PSU as in cables i'm holding here
Image
powered up and with multimeter straight to the pins on AMP UP which plugs into the psu VAC is still the same 97-98VAC.


Why o why is it not powering on here I am lost completely and need help big time..maybe I'm missing something simple!!
from that distribution block AC goes to monitor and MArquee and they are powering up fine.

Hers a pic of PSU wired as is

Image

Has any kind soul got a similar sega cab and could check Voltages or wiring compared to mine.
I am in dire need...sad thing is this worked before i picked it up

Post Reply