Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
Post Reply
User avatar
dj_johnnyg
Loves CAVE
Posts: 720
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 5:53 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by dj_johnnyg » March 3rd, 2019, 1:38 am

Hi,

The ongoing saga of my Mushiking project. I might finish it one day...

Anyway, long story short - I have 2 mushiking cabs. One is running a Sega 837-13551 I/O, and I have a riverservice JAMMA thingy for JAMMA games.
The 2nd cab ispretty much empty, with just monitor & SUN PSU and is going to be a slave off the 1st cab.

I'm trying to simplify the wiring, as the AMP-UP connections are flaky, and my eyesight is **** so soldering is becoming a royal pain in the ****.

Onto the question - is it possible to link 2 I/O's? My thinking is that I can use a standard loom from the control panel to the 2P points on the I/O in the 2nd cab, and then use a longish USB cable to "slave" this I/O to the main cab, which has the link to the Naomi / Riverservice.

Or am I talking **** & just need to get the soldering iron out & build a custom loom?


Cheers
John
Snakes: They're like bits of rope, only angrier.

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1265
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by nem » March 3rd, 2019, 2:07 pm

Good question. I guess it's something you just have to try out. It would need to be supported by the RS jamma converter. I think invzim was thinking about this functionality for his jamma converter, not sure if he ever added it.

For JVS games, most fighting games seem to support linking IO boards. The second player controls are put on the 1P side of the slave IO.

Also, you need something to split audio and video from the master cab to the slave cab. Linking the two IOs will just handle the controls.

User avatar
yosai
280bpm's too slow
Posts: 3612
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London
eBay: yosai

Re: Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by yosai » March 3rd, 2019, 4:12 pm

The Konami Windy 2 has JVS cab linking but I believe this is specific to the Windy JVS I/O and not a generic feature.

Here is a scan of the manual page.
ss.png

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1265
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by nem » March 3rd, 2019, 4:38 pm

It is a generic JVS feature. See here:

http://wiki.pcbotaku.com/wiki/JVS_I/O#NODE

However, it is entirely game dependent how it is used. Some games can be played in 4 player through IO linking, like Power Stone 2.

Question remains if the RS jamma converter supports it.

User avatar
dj_johnnyg
Loves CAVE
Posts: 720
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 5:53 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by dj_johnnyg » March 3rd, 2019, 6:40 pm

Hmm,

I guess I'll give it a go & hopefully don't blow anything in the process.

Video is easy, either a VGA splitter for Naomi, or the riverservice has dual video / audio outs.
Audio is a single RCA lead, as the Mushi's are only mono.

Thanks
Snakes: They're like bits of rope, only angrier.

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1265
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by nem » March 4th, 2019, 10:01 am

dj_johnnyg wrote:
March 3rd, 2019, 6:40 MP
the riverservice has dual video / audio outs.
To me that would kind of suggest that they might have actually incorporated it in to the feature set.

Anyway, there's no harm in trying, let us know how it goes.

User avatar
invzim
Posts: 468
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:26 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
eBay: prrole

Re: Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by invzim » March 4th, 2019, 7:16 pm

nem wrote:
March 3rd, 2019, 2:07 MP
Good question. I guess it's something you just have to try out. It would need to be supported by the RS jamma converter. I think invzim was thinking about this functionality for his jamma converter, not sure if he ever added it.

For JVS games, most fighting games seem to support linking IO boards. The second player controls are put on the 1P side of the slave IO.

Also, you need something to split audio and video from the master cab to the slave cab. Linking the two IOs will just handle the controls.
It's implemented, https://irkenlabs.com/jammafier/cabinet-linking
I make and sell cool Arcade stuff, check out https://irkenlabs.com/ - In The Name of Science!

User avatar
dj_johnnyg
Loves CAVE
Posts: 720
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 5:53 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by dj_johnnyg » March 13th, 2019, 11:48 pm

So good news & not so good news.

I setup a 2nd I/O as the last in a chain, so Naomi > "Main I/O" > "Slave I/O"
I'm turning the slave cab on 1st (to power the I/O) and then the main cab. Only have 2 buttons (Start & Fire) rigged up on the slave cab, as can't find my JVS>Control Panel loom.

Fired up CvSNK 2, and with the controls rigged to P1 on both I/Os, working as expected.

Connected up Bomberman PCB via the Riverservice, and both cabinets control Player 1.
Swapped the cables so "Slave" is running as P2, and JAMMA works as expected.

Re-Tested with CvSNK 2, and no P2 controls.

I may be doing something dumb, but I'm guessing although the Riverservice will accept inputs from a linked I/O, it needs the controls on the P2 side to work.

Unless anyone more clever than me has any bright ideas, I think my best option is to have 2 AMP U-P connectors in the cab, for P1 and P2, and simply swap the CP connector depending on if it's JAMMA or JVS.

Cheers
Snakes: They're like bits of rope, only angrier.

User avatar
invzim
Posts: 468
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:26 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
eBay: prrole

Re: Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by invzim » March 14th, 2019, 7:07 am

Sorry to hijack thread, but to avoid confusion as the Jammafier was mentioned I should mention the jammafier (not riverservice) link logic:

Player 1 inputs on secondary cabinet will be player 2 on primary cabinet.
Player 2 inputs on both cabinets are ignored.
Primary and secondary non-player input will be merged, i.e coin1 on secondary will be coin1 on Jamma edge.
I make and sell cool Arcade stuff, check out https://irkenlabs.com/ - In The Name of Science!

User avatar
dj_johnnyg
Loves CAVE
Posts: 720
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 5:53 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by dj_johnnyg » March 14th, 2019, 10:54 pm

Thanks for that. Shame Riverservice didn't think to do the same thing :mad:

Can't find my other 60-pin loom, so looks like a weekend of crimping & soldering for me :awe:

Anyone used a VGA splitter box for 15k signals? I'm assuming they just split & amplify the input signal, or will it only work with 31k?
Don't want to waste my cash on something that may or may not work. I've previously just made a Y cable for the video, but the 2nd monitor picture was really dull.
Snakes: They're like bits of rope, only angrier.

User avatar
dj_johnnyg
Loves CAVE
Posts: 720
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 5:53 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by dj_johnnyg » March 21st, 2019, 10:02 pm

OK,
Managed to borrow a VGA splitter from work, and can confirm it won't work with the Naomi set to 15k. Might just be the brand be have (ATEC), but I suspect it's not locking to the signal correctly.
Off to find a DB-15 Y-splitter cable today, and just **** around with the monitor settings to get a decent picture.
Snakes: They're like bits of rope, only angrier.

User avatar
dj_johnnyg
Loves CAVE
Posts: 720
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 5:53 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Linking Sega JVS I/O 837-13551

Post by dj_johnnyg » Yesterday, 4:04 am

So, success with the VGA "Y" cable. Picture is good on both monitors which is nice.

Now I find out I have a load of the I/O connectors, but no pins :mad: :mad: so going to have to butcher a loom or 2 to get something working.
Part of that involves working out which is the P1 Analogue connector (white or Orange), so fire up Monkey Ball to check, and nothing is firing up!
PSU is working, Naomi is working, so assume there must be a short of some sort so the PSU is not firing up.

Honestly, I'm getting too old for this **** :awe: I can't read the numbers on the connectors anymore, and had to use a 1150 lumen LED to see the pots on the monitor to adjust them.
Snakes: They're like bits of rope, only angrier.

Post Reply