The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

PCB problems and fixes
User avatar
skykid
1-ALL DOJ doesn't count.
Posts: 864
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: China

The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by skykid » August 8th, 2009, 9:03 pm

I just recently received back my boards from IC09, and I'm happy to say every single one I tested has been fine as promised - except poor old G.I. Joe. :cry:

I opened the bubble wrap when testing the next batch of arrivals and found this:

Image

Which is meant to sit here:

Image

I'm hoping this is a straightforward soldering job, cos it's a pretty expensive board. Unfortunately I don't have the know-how to re-attach it even if it is. :?
Needless to say any attempt to power on results in a blank, white screen.

I'm not putting blame on anyone for this - it's obviously happened in transit - however as Alan and Co. did promise safe use and return of all goods lent to the show I'm hoping you guys can help me out getting it fixed.

In a true Kernow-ism, my feelings since checking the board went like this: :eh: :wtf: :o :crazy: :( :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Always outnumbered, never outgunned.
SuperPang wrote: Where DOJ rapes you, DFK grabs your boob then runs away.

User avatar
kernow
:problem: child
Posts: 14823
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 2:01 pm
Location: Devon
Initials: KRN
Contact:

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by kernow » August 8th, 2009, 9:09 pm

I am sorry for your loss

but your kernowism is awesome :awe: ;)


:cry:
David... The wind blows... The wind blows... Bits of your... life awayee

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4777
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by Devil Soundwave » August 8th, 2009, 9:19 pm

Oh heck! Better go check my Taito boards... :?

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4520
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by grantspain » August 8th, 2009, 9:32 pm

looks easy enough to me,just solder new legs to the ic stumps/desolder old pins/insert repaired ic then very quick solder into place

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12713
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by cools » August 8th, 2009, 9:37 pm

Yeah that's a safe fix. You'll be able to get that sorted no problem :)
Image

User avatar
skykid
1-ALL DOJ doesn't count.
Posts: 864
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: China

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by skykid » August 8th, 2009, 9:39 pm

grantspain wrote:looks easy enough to me,just solder new legs to the ic stumps/desolder old pins/insert repaired ic then very quick solder into place
Will the board operate okay then after it's re-attached? (I'm guessing so, in a factory they need to go on one by one).

Unfortunately I'm totally not at the soldering skill level to do this mate - the most I've done is de-solder the battery from my DDP DOJ.

I need helpz! :(
Always outnumbered, never outgunned.
SuperPang wrote: Where DOJ rapes you, DFK grabs your boob then runs away.

poolchamp

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by poolchamp » August 8th, 2009, 9:51 pm

Skykids drama again .

jeez man its a £20 pcb send it to me and il fix it for you .


Any way shoould have pmed me before posting it on here .

Its not like the robocop you said was missing but yet it was in the box lol

User avatar
yosai
Windy City
Posts: 3736
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London
eBay: yosai

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by yosai » August 8th, 2009, 9:59 pm

If you don't want to post it bring it in to central London one night and I'll solder it up for you. :awe:

poolchamp

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by poolchamp » August 8th, 2009, 10:24 pm

yosai wrote:If you don't want to post it bring it in to central London one night and I'll solder it up for you. :awe:
Thats cool of you ,but you know you only got 2 mm max to solder a pin to there .

But if your happy doing it fire away .

Tom quit putting it into a machine will ya ,cause you do more damage

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4777
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by Devil Soundwave » August 8th, 2009, 10:35 pm

Finally got round to testing all my ic09 boards after reading this and they're all good. :)

Had a mild heart attack as my TNZS and Rainbow boards had been for a trip to the show! :D

Like I said, all good thoughh. I have some great new games to bring next year. :)

User avatar
skykid
1-ALL DOJ doesn't count.
Posts: 864
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: China

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by skykid » August 9th, 2009, 1:17 am

poolchamp wrote:Skykids drama again .

jeez man its a £20 pcb
Yeah right! :lol:
Any way shoould have pmed me before posting it on here .
I just needed help Al - not blaming anyone. As I mentioned it's obviously a transit break. I'm just glad it can be repaired fairly easily.
Its not like the robocop you said was missing but yet it was in the box lol
Not sure what that has to do with anything?.. :eh:

Anyway - thanks for the offers on posting it out, however a round trip with good old Royal Mail will probably set me back near £20 quid (and for that price I could buy another one, eh! :lol: )
it's unfortunately an extra expense that I can't use at the minute, so I'd very much like to take Yosai up on his offer of a central London meet and solder party. I head down pretty regularly to see my folks, so a detour and a perhaps a spot of Ketsui (?) would be very much appreciated. :awe:

Sending you a MP dude. ;)

Thanks to all for your help, I breathed a sigh of relief on getting your responses.

(EDIT: for future reference, what is this type of chip called? Anything in particular?)
Always outnumbered, never outgunned.
SuperPang wrote: Where DOJ rapes you, DFK grabs your boob then runs away.

User avatar
kernow
:problem: child
Posts: 14823
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 2:01 pm
Location: Devon
Initials: KRN
Contact:

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by kernow » August 9th, 2009, 1:33 am

I must play this g.i joe game in mame and see how bad it is :awe:
David... The wind blows... The wind blows... Bits of your... life awayee

User avatar
yosai
Windy City
Posts: 3736
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London
eBay: yosai

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by yosai » August 9th, 2009, 8:43 am

poolchamp wrote:Thats cool of you ,but you know you only got 2 mm max to solder a pin to there .
Shouldn't be a problem, we've got a nice fine tip soldering iron and a magnifying lamp.

User avatar
skykid
1-ALL DOJ doesn't count.
Posts: 864
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: China

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by skykid » August 9th, 2009, 11:23 am

kernow wrote:I must play this g.i joe game in mame and see how bad it is :awe:
It's the most awesomeness. :awe:
Always outnumbered, never outgunned.
SuperPang wrote: Where DOJ rapes you, DFK grabs your boob then runs away.

MrSporty
Posts: 22
Joined: February 16th, 2009, 5:24 pm
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by MrSporty » August 9th, 2009, 11:33 am

skykid wrote:(EDIT: for future reference, what is this type of chip called? Anything in particular?)
They are usually referred to as a "Hybrid" and yeah , the damn konami ones have a canny knack of falling off at the slightest mouse fart.

They are usually made up of a mixture of surface mount components and are usually used in either I/O applications where they filter coin inputs or control coin or lockout meters OR they usually appear as custom DAC's in the RGB output sections.

User avatar
skykid
1-ALL DOJ doesn't count.
Posts: 864
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: China

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by skykid » August 9th, 2009, 2:48 pm

MrSporty wrote:
skykid wrote:(EDIT: for future reference, what is this type of chip called? Anything in particular?)
They are usually referred to as a "Hybrid" and yeah , the damn konami ones have a canny knack of falling off at the slightest mouse fart.

They are usually made up of a mixture of surface mount components and are usually used in either I/O applications where they filter coin inputs or control coin or lockout meters OR they usually appear as custom DAC's in the RGB output sections.
Thanks for the info there Sporty, very handy. I'm guessing you've seen this problem before then?

The GI Joe must be more than for just filtering the coin biz though - the game won't even boot without it. :(
Always outnumbered, never outgunned.
SuperPang wrote: Where DOJ rapes you, DFK grabs your boob then runs away.

User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4557
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: Buckinghamshire
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by FrancoB » August 9th, 2009, 3:08 pm

skykid wrote:
The GI Joe must be more than for just filtering the coin biz though - the game won't even boot without it. :(
poolchamp wrote:
Tom quit putting it into a machine will ya ,cause you do more damage

poolchamp

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by poolchamp » August 9th, 2009, 3:30 pm

FrancoB wrote:
skykid wrote:
The GI Joe must be more than for just filtering the coin biz though - the game won't even boot without it. :(
poolchamp wrote:
Tom quit putting it into a machine will ya ,cause you do more damage

CORRECT :lol: :lol: it maybe to late but unlikely when you seen it off should never have put it in

User avatar
skykid
1-ALL DOJ doesn't count.
Posts: 864
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: China

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by skykid » August 9th, 2009, 7:09 pm

poolchamp wrote:
FrancoB wrote:
skykid wrote:
The GI Joe must be more than for just filtering the coin biz though - the game won't even boot without it. :(
poolchamp wrote:
Tom quit putting it into a machine will ya ,cause you do more damage

CORRECT :lol: :lol: it maybe to late but unlikely when you seen it off should never have put it in
I don't understand any of this. :oops:
Always outnumbered, never outgunned.
SuperPang wrote: Where DOJ rapes you, DFK grabs your boob then runs away.

MrSporty
Posts: 22
Joined: February 16th, 2009, 5:24 pm
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: The G.I. Joe PCB I lent to IC09 is ****

Post by MrSporty » August 10th, 2009, 1:25 am

Not to belittle your input poolchamp and FrancoB but your observations aren't exactly based on anything informative.

Image

This is the part in question. As i assumed before it handles the coin counters (or CVNTs in this case :) ). Whats causing your board to exhibit the non working behaviour is the output from Pin 10 of the hybrid, it leads to an edge triggered flip flop which controls the power on reset for the board. Without the hybrid in place the board is held in a constant reset state.

You can always try pulling the line high with a resistor to test it out. Hold a 5 to 10k resistor between the 5volt psu line and pin 10 of where the hybrid was and the board should power up.

Post Reply