Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

PCB problems and fixes
Asure
Posts: 570
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Location: Netherlands
eBay: asure_nl

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Asure »

The (proper) instructions how to do this are spread over some posts from Punji. But he has not been around for some time, to give exact advice.
I missed the second part / fix because that was posted later in the topic, it took me some time because i overlooked that part all the time.

Anyway, we need to figure out a few things first.

Key here is IC44 -> LS138 (M74LS138P) and pin1 of the gfx eproms.
We need to also dump the eproms in those sockets to find out which is what. Maybe the correct eprom content is already on the board, just not selected because of a design error.

Do you have a logic probe, eprom dumper/writer and multimeter?

Edit: I also need a clear image of the bottom pcb area, with the eproms and 74LS138 properly visible. The image you have posted now is too dark.
shinobi076
Posts: 11
Joined: February 19th, 2013, 1:51 pm
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by shinobi076 »

Thanks to help me !!

http://benjamin.bouloch.free.fr/100_4066.JPG"
http://benjamin.bouloch.free.fr/100_4063.JPG"

Here are the images that you want. Hope that is good enough ?
Sorry, I don't have logic proble or eproms dumper (only have a multimeter) but I maybe I can find some friends who got them.
Asure
Posts: 570
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Location: Netherlands
eBay: asure_nl

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Asure »

Those images are of a different board, IC44 suddenly became IC46...?!

Without rom dumps from the board it is too hard to 'guess' where to start so sorry, you will need an eprom reader/writer to continue. Logic probe would be nice. Multimeter as well.
krick
Posts: 3
Joined: December 6th, 2013, 8:57 pm
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by krick »


The issue does not reproduce on MAME because the emulator is not perfect (or rather, it is better than the real thing).
Basically, the "Today's record" screen has two big meters (green and blue) that move vertically... everything works fine as long as they are NOT both positioned at the top,
which is the case when both levels are set to 1 as done in the score save mod after a power-up.
In that situation, the video circuit is simply not able to draw all the objects in that horizontal line where "ROUND" is positioned.
In fact, "ROUND" is composed of three separated objects, "RO", "UN" and "D ", and the last two are simply discarded (but not when running on MAME).
If MAME isn't behaving the same as real hardware, you should probably file a bug and bring it to someone's attention... http://mametesters.org"
User avatar
idc
Posts: 1337
Joined: October 16th, 2008, 9:17 pm
Location: Tamworth, Staffordshire
Initials: IAN
Contact:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by idc »

SSL is down on my server at present due to server move. The link still works without SSL if anyone still needs it:

http://ianc.net/temp/boblbobl/boblbobl_ ... -03-11.zip"
ImageImageImageImage
Image
Asure
Posts: 570
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Location: Netherlands
eBay: asure_nl

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Asure »

krick wrote:

The issue does not reproduce on MAME because the emulator is not perfect (or rather, it is better than the real thing).
Basically, the "Today's record" screen has two big meters (green and blue) that move vertically... everything works fine as long as they are NOT both positioned at the top,
which is the case when both levels are set to 1 as done in the score save mod after a power-up.
In that situation, the video circuit is simply not able to draw all the objects in that horizontal line where "ROUND" is positioned.
In fact, "ROUND" is composed of three separated objects, "RO", "UN" and "D ", and the last two are simply discarded (but not when running on MAME).
If MAME isn't behaving the same as real hardware, you should probably file a bug and bring it to someone's attention... http://mametesters.org"
Worth further discussion.
On real hardware, this limitation probably showed up during testing. As such the "Today's Record" default values are not set to 1 and the game works around it this way.
The problem only shows on real hardware because of the highscore save.
It might be worth knowing if the issue is also worked around in say, level design..
User avatar
centaur2
Posts: 13
Joined: February 8th, 2013, 9:39 pm
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by centaur2 »

Hi guys,

I am trying to get the Lost Cave 1.2 patch running on my 2-stack bootleg board.

The Redux version is running fine, so board is ok.

I have swapped out so far:

the 3 program EPROMS (3, 4, and 5)

a78-08

and the 12 GFX roms.

When I start the board, I only get the welcome sound, and the board resets after not showing
anything.

Any tips?

Thanks
Sebastian
User avatar
Elgen
Please Continue...
Posts: 77
Joined: February 6th, 2011, 12:30 pm
Location: Vanløse, Denmark.
Initials: ELG

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Elgen »

As far as I know, you can only run Lost Caves on original hardware...

EDIT: Sorry, didn't see the latest updates on their page };-P Hey that's good news, I think I'll give it a go as well...
http://elgensrepairs.blogspot.dk/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.facebook.com/elgensrepairs" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
User avatar
centaur2
Posts: 13
Joined: February 8th, 2013, 9:39 pm
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by centaur2 »

Hi again,

I found the problem. I had DIP switches #7 and 8 of Bank 2 in ON position.
The BB Redux version runs fine with these two on, but the Lost Cave Version
resets all the time.

So, just put them in OFF position and enjoy Lost Cave on your bootleg.
Last edited by centaur2 on March 3rd, 2014, 10:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Elgen
Please Continue...
Posts: 77
Joined: February 6th, 2011, 12:30 pm
Location: Vanløse, Denmark.
Initials: ELG

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Elgen »

Cool, thnx for the tip... can't wait till I get home from work };-P
http://elgensrepairs.blogspot.dk/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.facebook.com/elgensrepairs" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
User avatar
centaur2
Posts: 13
Joined: February 8th, 2013, 9:39 pm
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by centaur2 »

For anyone who is interested, I swapped the following chips:

the three program eproms bb3, bb4 and bb5

A78-08 (is labelled "1" on most bootlegs, near the 3 program roms and the Z80)

10 of the 12 graphics roms (A78-011 (labelled 8) and A78-017 (labelled 14) are identical to the original roms)

Have fun
Sebastian
User avatar
Elgen
Please Continue...
Posts: 77
Joined: February 6th, 2011, 12:30 pm
Location: Vanløse, Denmark.
Initials: ELG

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Elgen »

When you do the pathcing, do you use the original ROM set or a bootleg ROM set?
http://elgensrepairs.blogspot.dk/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.facebook.com/elgensrepairs" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
User avatar
centaur2
Posts: 13
Joined: February 8th, 2013, 9:39 pm
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by centaur2 »

You don't have to patch anything, simply burn the roms onto 27c256 eproms and swap them onto the board.
User avatar
Elgen
Please Continue...
Posts: 77
Joined: February 6th, 2011, 12:30 pm
Location: Vanløse, Denmark.
Initials: ELG

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Elgen »

Where do you find these files? Can't find them here http://lostcave.wordpress.com/download/"

Edit: Sorry, just realized, that even though the site says that the zips doesn't contain ROM-files, they actually do. Just strike the above comment };-P
Last edited by Elgen on March 3rd, 2014, 11:20 am, edited 2 times in total.
http://elgensrepairs.blogspot.dk/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.facebook.com/elgensrepairs" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
User avatar
centaur2
Posts: 13
Joined: February 8th, 2013, 9:39 pm
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by centaur2 »

Just click on the "Click here" graphics right beneath the large logo.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/74c64 ... vev1_2.zip"
User avatar
Elgen
Please Continue...
Posts: 77
Joined: February 6th, 2011, 12:30 pm
Location: Vanløse, Denmark.
Initials: ELG

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Elgen »

Jup, I didn't reallize that it worked that way };-P
http://elgensrepairs.blogspot.dk/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.facebook.com/elgensrepairs" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
User avatar
Elgen
Please Continue...
Posts: 77
Joined: February 6th, 2011, 12:30 pm
Location: Vanløse, Denmark.
Initials: ELG

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Elgen »

That's the way (aha! aha!) I like it...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uc6N9gHKkqM"
Thnx for the info, centaur2; the whole process went pretty smooth };-P
Last edited by Elgen on May 7th, 2014, 9:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://elgensrepairs.blogspot.dk/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.facebook.com/elgensrepairs" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
User avatar
centaur2
Posts: 13
Joined: February 8th, 2013, 9:39 pm
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by centaur2 »

Very nice, looking forward to your blogpost.
User avatar
Elgen
Please Continue...
Posts: 77
Joined: February 6th, 2011, 12:30 pm
Location: Vanløse, Denmark.
Initials: ELG

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Elgen »

Thnx *blush*
http://elgensrepairs.blogspot.dk/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.facebook.com/elgensrepairs" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
User avatar
caius
Posts: 112
Joined: May 24th, 2013, 11:55 am
Location: Italy
eBay: private
Initials: FAB

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by caius »

centaur2 wrote:For anyone who is interested, I swapped the following chips:

the three program eproms bb3, bb4 and bb5

A78-08 (is labelled "1" on most bootlegs, near the 3 program roms and the Z80)

10 of the 12 graphics roms (A78-011 (labelled 8) and A78-017 (labelled 14) are identical to the original roms)

Have fun
Sebastian
Hi I'm trying the Lost Cave hack on my Bubble Bobble bootleg PCB (2 layers version) but I get some issues, the game title is scrambled and game crashes during gameplay due a "WORK RAM" error.I swapped only the thee programs ROMS labeled 3-4-5 but you said other ROMS need to be changed but I didn't understand which ones and which ROM files has to be used for (if from original or bootleg MAME ROMSet).This is not stated in the instructions inlcuded in the Lost Cave archive.Could you explain better this?Thanks.

P.S.
For the Redux version I need to swap only the three program ROMS?The provided files are patches or ready-to-burn files?
Post Reply