Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

PCB problems and fixes
User avatar
joaoljr
Posts: 145
Joined: September 25th, 2012, 3:22 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by joaoljr » March 21st, 2013, 1:23 pm

lucusam wrote: I have been testing out your patch with sboblbob ( set 2 ) in MAME.
The set "sboblbob" has two images, bbb-3.rom and bbb-4.rom. Are you replacing those with bb3 and bb4 from REDUX mod?
Note that you should replace all three ROMs, so that may be causing the reset issue.
lucusam wrote: I have been able to reproduce this quite easily.
I can't reproduce that issue when using the "boblbobl" image set, which is the base one for the REDUX mod.

Even if your board has "Super"mode installed originally, you should still be able to replace the three ROMs and get it working fine,
since there are no hardware differences from a regular and a super bootleg board.

Punji

User avatar
golani
Posts: 50
Joined: October 20th, 2011, 2:36 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by golani » March 22nd, 2013, 12:46 pm

hello,

i do so as you described but i have still the color problem.

http://s14.directupload.net/file/d/3202 ... 8i_jpg.htm"
http://s1.directupload.net/file/d/3202/mv8tc4sw_jpg.htm"

maybe some ic is not working correct anymore - because i forget before to cut the trace near the 74LS138 pin1.

maybe the 74LS138 chip is gone or 74LS374N

simon

User avatar
idc
Posts: 1342
Joined: October 16th, 2008, 9:17 pm
Location: Tamworth, Staffordshire
Initials: IAN
Contact:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by idc » March 22nd, 2013, 1:20 pm

golani wrote:hello,

i do so as you described but i have still the color problem.

http://s14.directupload.net/file/d/3202 ... 8i_jpg.htm"
http://s1.directupload.net/file/d/3202/mv8tc4sw_jpg.htm"

maybe some ic is not working correct anymore - because i forget before to cut the trace near the 74LS138 pin1.

maybe the 74LS138 chip is gone or 74LS374N

simon
Simon, you might want to find an alternative image upload service, that Directupload.net site keeps trying to spunk ads and malware in my face when I check out your links.

Tip from ninn:
ninn wrote:If you want just to quickly share a picture, I always use http://www.666kb.at" - it is run by a friend and excellent for those small pics you need just once. 8-)
ImageImageImageImage
Image

User avatar
ninn
TheRedKnight's Lover
Posts: 1010
Joined: September 5th, 2011, 1:24 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe
eBay: 8bitbitch

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by ninn » March 22nd, 2013, 1:31 pm

666kb.at will not work for these pcb-images, as they are probably bigger than 666kb. :D
Randy and Candy.
currently lazy. must not buy games!

User avatar
joaoljr
Posts: 145
Joined: September 25th, 2012, 3:22 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by joaoljr » March 22nd, 2013, 6:50 pm

I'm using http://www.photobucket.com. I like it because it allows direct links to images.

Simon, I don't think your color issue is related to any of the board changes you did. The green channel appears to be missing everywhere.

The graphic ROMs only contain color indexes, which are mapped to a color lookup table stored in RAM.
A fault in the ROMs should affect all color channels, not only green.

The weird thing is that white color still seems to be displayed, based on the hi-score and Bub/Bob eyes displayed in your screenshot,
so the fault can't be at the final color DAC stage or the monitor either. Are those areas really white or bright pink?

Please try to swap the color table RAMs at positions Q6 and R6.

Punji

User avatar
golani
Posts: 50
Joined: October 20th, 2011, 2:36 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by golani » March 22nd, 2013, 8:21 pm

those areas are not white - the are bright pink.

i swap the RAMs at positions Q6 and R6 - nothing happend.

simon

User avatar
joaoljr
Posts: 145
Joined: September 25th, 2012, 3:22 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by joaoljr » March 22nd, 2013, 9:17 pm

golani wrote:those areas are not white - the are bright pink.
Ok, so the issue is either:

- The output video DAC stage and associated resistors, i.e., 74LS273 at positions T6 / T7.
- The buffers that allow access to the color table, i.e., 74LS245 at positions R7 / Q7.

Change the DIP switches to enabled the test mode that shows a full white screen. Measure the voltage at each resistor to GND,
at the side near each 74LS273, it should be above 3V. Each group of 5 resistors correspond to one color. I think GREEN is the one at position T7. If you have close to 0V for those resistors then either the 74LS273 at position T7 or the 74LS245 at position R7 are fault. If all resistors are above 3V then you may have interrupted some trace that goes from there until the JAMMA connector.

Punji

User avatar
golani
Posts: 50
Joined: October 20th, 2011, 2:36 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by golani » March 22nd, 2013, 11:31 pm

i was in testscreen and
i measure the voltage at the point :

all points in volt DC:
1)1,76 2)1,94 3)2,04 4)2,05 5)2,06
6)2,18 7)2,17 8)2,21 9)2,26 10)2,29
11)2,07 12)2,05 13)2,03 14)1,93 15)1,75

im not sure if the voltage are correct as is?

simon
Last edited by golani on December 6th, 2015, 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
joaoljr
Posts: 145
Joined: September 25th, 2012, 3:22 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by joaoljr » March 23rd, 2013, 2:20 am

Simon, I measured on my board and the voltages are very similar to yours. It seems the chips are ok.

I think the problem may be an interrupted trace or short to ground from the bottom side of the resistors until pin 12 (bottom side) on the JAMMA connector. Please follow the trace and check for anything wrong.

Punji

lucusam
Posts: 2
Joined: March 21st, 2013, 9:52 am
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by lucusam » March 23rd, 2013, 6:34 am

joaoljr wrote:
I can't reproduce that issue when using the "boblbobl" image set, which is the base one for the REDUX mod.

Even if your board has "Super"mode installed originally, you should still be able to replace the three ROMs and get it working fine,
since there are no hardware differences from a regular and a super bootleg board.

Punji
I can't reproduce the issue either when using the boblbobl image set and I've been playing non stop for hours, only the sboblbobl image set seems to have this problem. There's probably an issue with my mame0146 build, I've made some changes to it so I'll get the latest sources and see if I can still reproduce it with a fresh build.

Can anybody recommend a decent eprom programmer? I had the earlier Willem model from a few years back but my machine doesn't have a parallel port so I'm looking for USB support, I also had some trouble with the Willem handling some devices. It would need to handle bipolar PROMs, I have a bad sound PROM at 5C on my Galaga cpu board that needs to be replaced.

Thanks.

User avatar
golani
Posts: 50
Joined: October 20th, 2011, 2:36 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by golani » March 23rd, 2013, 3:45 pm

i check for anything wrong and found out there is a disconnect cable under an resistor ! near the jamma harnes -
marke in the red circle.

http://s1.directupload.net/file/d/3202/wy25bi5f_jpg.htm"

fixed now!
thx

but i still cannot get a clear treasure rom:

http://s14.directupload.net/file/d/3203 ... l2_jpg.htm"
http://s14.directupload.net/file/d/3203 ... t6_jpg.htm"

simon
Last edited by golani on December 6th, 2015, 11:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
joaoljr
Posts: 145
Joined: September 25th, 2012, 3:22 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by joaoljr » March 23rd, 2013, 9:46 pm

golani wrote:i still cannot get a clear treasure rom
From the screenshots, it seems the ROM lower address range is working now, but it is returning wrong data.

Did you replace the ROMs with 27512?
Did you do the board changes described at steps 3, 4, 5 and 6 to properly connect both ROM pin 1?

Punji
Last edited by joaoljr on March 24th, 2013, 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
golani
Posts: 50
Joined: October 20th, 2011, 2:36 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by golani » March 24th, 2013, 10:04 am

i found the fault.
if i build back the pcb to original - i connect back pin 1 on the ROM at position S2 to pull-up resistor pin1.
after it must be pin2.(was still pin1)

now the board works fine! ;)

Congratulations thanks for the large support and the effort.
simon

Thank you Punji

User avatar
joaoljr
Posts: 145
Joined: September 25th, 2012, 3:22 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by joaoljr » March 24th, 2013, 3:34 pm

golani wrote:i found the fault.

now the board works fine! ;)
Great Simon! I'm happy your board is working fine now! :awe:

Punji

User avatar
Elgen
Please Continue...
Posts: 77
Joined: February 6th, 2011, 12:30 pm
Location: Vanløse, Denmark.
Initials: ELG

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Elgen » March 28th, 2013, 3:24 pm

Hi there. I love the work you've done. I have just done a REDUX myself on a board I snapped up cheap from a french seller on evilBay. It works like a charm };-P

http://elgensrepairs.blogspot.dk/2013/0 ... r-log.html"
http://elgensrepairs.blogspot.dk/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.facebook.com/elgensrepairs" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
joaoljr
Posts: 145
Joined: September 25th, 2012, 3:22 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by joaoljr » March 28th, 2013, 9:38 pm

Hi Elgen, nice reading your repair log! That board was really a bargain. I payed about the same for a similar non-working one (I just don't regret it because I learned a lot repairing it).

Your board is a 56-pin non-JAMMA. I wonder why they did that. The JAMMA standard is from 1985, you board is from 1986 or later, based on the IC manufacturing dates.

Anyway, I'm glad you got the REDUX mod working on it. You better check the treasure room and boss levels to make sure you don't have the same graphics issues as Simon and me. You may want to use the level skip feature to quickly get to levels 50 and 100. Or check if the graphics ROMs add up to 2 x 192KB.

Punji

Solei
Posts: 3
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 11:28 am
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Solei » April 11th, 2013, 1:12 pm

Hi,

And thanks for making this possible.
I am about to pick up a board, and made the seller test it with the roms, but that was not without problems alas, since language setting and service mode does't work. I'm afraid we need your help. Here's what he wrote:

"Regarding the language settings: I tried to flip the dip switches, but this version also does not boot up when you go into test mode .. same board with bootleg roms works fine."

Here's a link to the board in question:
http://www.arcadiabay.de/source/item.aspx?id=3435"

User avatar
joaoljr
Posts: 145
Joined: September 25th, 2012, 3:22 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by joaoljr » April 11th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Solei wrote:"Regarding the language settings: I tried to flip the dip switches, but this version also does not boot up when you go into test mode .. same board with bootleg roms works fine."
What exactly was the DIP switch configuration used here?
It may help if you post a screenshot of the issue.
Solei wrote:Here's a link to the board in question:
http://www.arcadiabay.de/source/item.aspx?id=3435"
It seems to me that board should work fine with the REDUX mod.

Punji

Solei
Posts: 3
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 11:28 am
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Solei » April 11th, 2013, 11:02 pm

hi joaoljr,

I have no idea, since i have not bought it yet. I have to send your questions to Tom at Arcadiabay.

Stay tuned :)

Solei
Posts: 3
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 11:28 am
Location:

Re: Bubble Bobble Bootleg info

Post by Solei » April 15th, 2013, 2:05 pm

Hi again,

And sorry for the wait.
It seems like we still need some help.
On request, i redownloaded the latest romset of yours and mailed it to Tom at Arcadiabay.
But no luck this time either. Here's what he wrote:

"The Redux-Roms (I tested the basic version ) will only boot to an error screen, either „Common Ram Error“ or „Time Error“ .."

And

"The Dip-Switches where all off, and sure he can contact me directly"

As you may have guessed, i took the liberty to ask him if you could contact him directly, and you are welcome to reach Tom at:
http://www.arcadiabay.de/kontakt.aspx"

Just tell him that you got this message from 'Ole'. :)

Regards, Ole

Post Reply