Do you switch your joystick between 2/4/8 way?

Coin-operated games and arcades.
Post Reply
Hitesh
Posts: 198
Joined: August 22nd, 2008, 7:38 am
Location:
eBay: HiteshPujara

Do you switch your joystick between 2/4/8 way?

Post by Hitesh » July 7th, 2011, 2:42 pm

I have mine set at 8 way and nevcer bother switching.

Would I get better scores if I did?

User avatar
Rossyra
Supermod
Posts: 8015
Joined: February 12th, 2009, 1:24 am
Location: UK

Re: Do you switch your joystick between 2/4/8 way?

Post by Rossyra » July 7th, 2011, 2:43 pm

If you were playing Pac-Man, yeah you would
Image

User avatar
yosai
Windy City
Posts: 3736
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London
eBay: yosai

Re: Do you switch your joystick between 2/4/8 way?

Post by yosai » July 7th, 2011, 3:40 pm

I've only ever changed mine a couple of times (2 way) to play World Rally. The game was better for it but I can't be bothered to adjust the sticks, mostly. Image

User avatar
AeroCityMayor
Previously alien_mame
Posts: 2030
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 1:05 pm
Location: West Yorks, UK
eBay: air_fortless
Initials: ACM

Re: Do you switch your joystick between 2/4/8 way?

Post by AeroCityMayor » July 7th, 2011, 4:31 pm

I find Crazy Kong pt II almost impossible to play 8-way.

I change mine around all the time.

Cheers,

Ralph.
Image

User avatar
jonny5
Tremendous Woody
Posts: 927
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:21 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Do you switch your joystick between 2/4/8 way?

Post by jonny5 » July 7th, 2011, 6:14 pm

yosai wrote:I've only ever changed mine a couple of times (2 way) to play World Rally. The game was better for it but I can't be bothered to adjust the sticks, mostly. Image
So true! I change my gates to 4 way for Mr. Driller G as well; controls tighter.
on the loose

brendz
Posts: 58
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 10:40 pm
Location: toronto, canada

Re: Do you switch your joystick between 2/4/8 way?

Post by brendz » July 8th, 2011, 2:05 am

I have a dedicated puzzle cab I leave in 4way for driller and muchihimetama, all my other cabs are in 8way

User avatar
MmSadda
Banned
Posts: 237
Joined: January 22nd, 2010, 8:45 pm
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Initials: CDF
Contact:

Re: Do you switch your joystick between 2/4/8 way?

Post by MmSadda » July 26th, 2011, 4:46 pm

When I got Namco Classic Collection, I changed the Aero Table over from 8-way to 4-way, because the game doesn't register the diagonals as anything, which makes the game REALLY tough to play in 8-way... but I basically just leave that cab set up for that game now, as it's not worth it to switch back and forth regularly. (Also, I had to flip the monitor image by swapping connectors on the chassis, which is another reason I don't bother with anything that'd be 8-way in that cab)
-Collin

Check out my arcade sales thread here: http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=38267" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Post Reply