Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Everything Supergun related
Post Reply
User avatar
trev1976
Posts: 870
Joined: March 30th, 2009, 7:17 pm
Location: Southampton

Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by trev1976 »

Went to power my supergun tonight and it seems the PSU is dead , it has a SC200 5 pin din +5v 4.0a +12v 1.0a 25w output , any ideas of what i could use as a replacement , hopefully something quite cheap

Thanks
Check out my "1cc" YouTube Channel
YouTube
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8406
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
eBay: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by crunchywasp »

There was a guy selling PSU's with a similar spec on eBay last month for £15 posted. I ordered one for a VGA upscaler project I'm working on and it arrived quickly and was new as listed. The listing's ended but it might be worth contacting him to see if he's any left...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/221290218072"
Image
User avatar
trev1976
Posts: 870
Joined: March 30th, 2009, 7:17 pm
Location: Southampton

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by trev1976 »

i was just thinking of you crunchy :fastlove: you make your own superguns , might ending up needing one if i cant fix this little bugger :cry:

anyway ill get on to the ebay guy , cheers :D
Check out my "1cc" YouTube Channel
YouTube
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8406
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
eBay: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by crunchywasp »

:fastlove:

If he can't help, or if you can't find a suitable replacement, then rather than replace the SG you could just build a lead with a 5 pin DIN plug on one end and some ring or fork terminals on t'other and hook it up to a JAMMA PSU.

It'd be a 10 minute job - I'd be happy to help if need be :)
Image
User avatar
trev1976
Posts: 870
Joined: March 30th, 2009, 7:17 pm
Location: Southampton

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by trev1976 »

crunchywasp wrote::fastlove:

If he can't help, or if you can't find a suitable replacement, then rather than replace the SG you could just build a lead with a 5 pin DIN plug on one end and some ring or fork terminals on t'other and hook it up to a JAMMA PSU.

It'd be a 10 minute job - I'd be happy to help if need be :)
sounds good , is there a jamma psu you would recommend ? :)
Check out my "1cc" YouTube Channel
YouTube
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8406
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
eBay: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by crunchywasp »

Yep :) ...

http://www.giz10p.co.uk/index.php?_a=vi ... roductId=3"

Or

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/260849594057"
(It's Wei Ya but I've never had any bother with these at all)

There are more expensive ones but these ones do the job nicely and are well priced I reckon.
Image
User avatar
trev1976
Posts: 870
Joined: March 30th, 2009, 7:17 pm
Location: Southampton

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by trev1976 »

cheers ;)
Check out my "1cc" YouTube Channel
YouTube
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8406
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
eBay: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by crunchywasp »

No probs ;)
Image
User avatar
trev1976
Posts: 870
Joined: March 30th, 2009, 7:17 pm
Location: Southampton

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by trev1976 »

Damn that guy wont get back to me , so if i use a JAMMA PSU i presume id need to put it in an enclosure as i can imagine there quite dangerous with the power leads exposed especially with a curious 1yr old running around ?
Check out my "1cc" YouTube Channel
YouTube
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8406
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
eBay: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by crunchywasp »

I see he's got a couple of negs on his eBay profile mentioning lack of comms :( I didn't have to contact him but he never left me any feedback :( meh.

As long as you weren't poking around at it then a bare JAMMA PSU would be ok for adults but certainly not too great for inquisitive children I expect :(

If you're concerned you could house it in an ABS project box/enclosure or similar guess. You could have the live, neutral and earth running to an IEC socket and simply plug an IEC/kettle lead from the mains in to that, then either a socket to plug in the lead with the 5 pin din plug which would go to the supergun or else just run the lead through a hole (with rubber grommet or whatever) in the enclosure.

Also, if you were to do that then it'd be worth adding an on/off switch and a small hole so you could adjust the voltage without opening the enclosure :)

And if you're feeling adventurous you could stick a fan in there too... or just drill some air vents :awe:
Image
User avatar
instant_classic
Actually Loves Take That
Posts: 1090
Joined: February 10th, 2009, 9:47 pm
Location: Wales
Initials: DAF

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by instant_classic »

crunchywasp wrote:I ordered one for a VGA upscaler project I'm working on
Tell me more ;)
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8406
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
eBay: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by crunchywasp »

MP for you Daf, you nosey curious bugger you :awe:
Image
User avatar
trev1976
Posts: 870
Joined: March 30th, 2009, 7:17 pm
Location: Southampton

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by trev1976 »

crunchywasp wrote:I see he's got a couple of negs on his eBay profile mentioning lack of comms :( I didn't have to contact him but he never left me any feedback :( meh.

As long as you weren't poking around at it then a bare JAMMA PSU would be ok for adults but certainly not too great for inquisitive children I expect :(

If you're concerned you could house it in an ABS project box/enclosure or similar guess. You could have the live, neutral and earth running to an IEC socket and simply plug an IEC/kettle lead from the mains in to that, then either a socket to plug in the lead with the 5 pin din plug which would go to the supergun or else just run the lead through a hole (with rubber grommet or whatever) in the enclosure.

Also, if you were to do that then it'd be worth adding an on/off switch and a small hole so you could adjust the voltage without opening the enclosure :)

And if you're feeling adventurous you could stick a fan in there too... or just drill some air vents :awe:

Yeah i was thinking this but it all starts adding up :( i think an ABS enclosure of that size would be roughly £10 on its own but it would be a pretty kickass PSU lol , that other PSU would of been perfect though i would of just had to move one wire on my existing din socket ,job done

Hope the uncommunicative **** gets back to me
Check out my "1cc" YouTube Channel
YouTube
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8406
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
eBay: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by crunchywasp »

Yep, things definitely start to get a little pricier when you start messing about like that :( if you don't mind what it looks like you could ghetto-encase it in some tough double-wall cardboard, Tupperware or timber :awe:

Hopefully that boy gets back to you and has some PSUs left, or someone has a direct replacement.
Image
User avatar
Porl
Please Continue...
Posts: 235
Joined: May 14th, 2012, 11:50 am
Location: Linton, Midlands UK
eBay: melvisbrevel
Initials: PTB

Re: Need a replacment PSU for my supergun

Post by Porl »

crunchywasp wrote: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/260849594057"
(It's Wei Ya but I've never had any bother with these at all)
I've not had a problem with these either :) So another recommendation from me if you do decide to go this PSU route

Porl''
Post Reply