Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Everything Emulator related
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12723
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by cools » October 14th, 2008, 11:19 am

markedkiller78 wrote:Is the E8400 better than an AMD Phenom X4 9950?
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/150466/sh ... ct_reviews"

I've been talking about upgrading my pc for ages & I’m finally going to do it, but I just don’t know if I need a £100+ processor when I can get an AMD 6000+ X2 for £60
It depends on your criteria :)

I look about at what the latest from both camps is, read the spec sheets paying particular attention to the TDP, and look at pricing and benchmarks. Once I've chosen the range I'll work out the best Ghz per £ for each processor in that range and pick the one that scores highest on the day I order. I don't bother looking at quads - I've been using duals for years and not found any performance issues that'd be helped by adding more processors in a single user machine.

AMD stuff is almost always better value, BUT - generally the motherboards available don't meet my criteria. So I'll go with an Intel CPU and an Intel board.

(To answer, it'd be quicker than the X4 9950. You don't need a quad. And it's better than the 6000 X2, but the differences are apples and pears.)
Image

User avatar
markedkiller78
Pony fucker
Posts: 7364
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by markedkiller78 » October 14th, 2008, 11:37 am

Cheers Cools, So there is no need for a Quad (I kind of thought that).

The price difference is not just processor with shuttles :? Looking at it the costs are getting out of hand. £600-800 by the time I add a monitor, new speakers, keyboard, mouse……

So I think I’ll just stick with the crappy desktop for a little longer. sigh
Image

Jahya
Posts: 13
Joined: August 21st, 2008, 8:01 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by Jahya » October 16th, 2008, 10:27 pm

I would recommend an Intel Wolfdale:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819115036"

45nm design, 6mb cache, easily OC to 4ghz. I have one running Gauntlet Legends around 97-103% on Mame 64-bit. Shuttle Prima XPC case intel p35 mobo. ArcadeVGA, 8gb Ram (it's cheap so I splurged) etc.

User avatar
markedkiller78
Pony fucker
Posts: 7364
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by markedkiller78 » October 17th, 2008, 8:44 am

Jahya wrote:I would recommend an Intel Wolfdale:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819115036"

45nm design, 6mb cache, easily OC to 4ghz. I have one running Gauntlet Legends around 97-103% on Mame 64-bit. Shuttle Prima XPC case intel p35 mobo. ArcadeVGA, 8gb Ram (it's cheap so I splurged) etc.
Nice, £130 in the UK: http://www.ebuyer.com/product/140428/sh ... ct_reviews"

It sounds like excellent.
Image

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12723
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by cools » October 17th, 2008, 9:52 am

One up from the E8400. Not as many GHz for the £, but quicker nonetheless :)
Image

User avatar
markedkiller78
Pony fucker
Posts: 7364
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by markedkiller78 » October 17th, 2008, 9:58 am

They are talking crazy o/c figures, not that I will o/c it :oops:

6mb of L2 cash sounds nice :) If I start playing any more on this GGPO I think I might just upgrade afterall :)
Image

User avatar
chubsta
I'm getting too old for this shit...
Posts: 809
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:13 pm
Location: Folkestone, Kent, UK
eBay: chubsta

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by chubsta » October 17th, 2008, 12:01 pm

Now i just need to get me a stripped out OS to run it - i tried vliting vista64 but it goes into a loop on updating and then switches it self off.
I guess vista64 is better than vista32, but would xp64 be better than vista32, and would tinyXP32 be better than the lot of them because it has so little running?

I couldnt belive the bloat in vista when i installed it btw - terrible, terrible OS IMHO

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12723
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by cools » October 17th, 2008, 12:12 pm

I'd be making myself an nLited copy of XP64. Usually takes a few attempts to get it tweaked/stripped how I like though.

Not a fan of any versions of the OS I haven't hacked up myself from a clean original disc :)
Image

User avatar
Checen Rebel
Posts: 67
Joined: August 20th, 2008, 8:41 pm
Location: Up t'north

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by Checen Rebel » October 18th, 2008, 4:33 am

gotta agree, nlited xp64 as long as there are xp 64bit drivers for all your hardware.

User avatar
AeroCityMayor
Previously alien_mame
Posts: 2075
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 1:05 pm
Location: West Yorks, UK
eBay: air_fortless
Initials: ACM

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by AeroCityMayor » October 18th, 2008, 6:26 pm

cools wrote:I'd be making myself an nLited copy of XP64.
linkage would be appreciated ;)
Image

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12723
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by cools » October 18th, 2008, 7:47 pm

http://www.nliteos.com/"

If you're familiar with 2K/XP internals it's pretty easy to use :)
Image

User avatar
AeroCityMayor
Previously alien_mame
Posts: 2075
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 1:05 pm
Location: West Yorks, UK
eBay: air_fortless
Initials: ACM

Re: Recommend me a Mame set-up...please?

Post by AeroCityMayor » October 18th, 2008, 8:12 pm

Thanks a lot mate, I'll have a look.

I have the wolfdale, and XP64 here ;)
Image

Post Reply