New Mame setup

Everything Emulator related
Post Reply
User avatar
invzim
Posts: 479
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:26 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
eBay: prrole

New Mame setup

Post by invzim » April 27th, 2019, 5:01 pm

As I've just opened up sale of the JVS-PAC 2, I figured it's time to get a modern mame setup for 31K JVS gaming :awe:

Ordered a refurb Dell Optiplex 9010 SFF, Quad Core i5-3570 3.4GHz / Radeon 6450 1GB / 8GB RAM which should be here next week.

Current plan is to use windows 7, attract mode and GroovyMame.

Did a dry-run without an ATI card, and all works pretty snappy except windows 7 steals focus after attract mode is launched. Not going to bother with replacing explorer as shell, but read somewhere that a batch file with a delay will do the trick.

Anyone got any lessons learned about a setup like this? I just want the games, and don't really care if you can tell that windows is booting when windows is booting :D
I make and sell cool Arcade stuff, check out https://irkenlabs.com/ - In The Name of Science!

User avatar
Dache
Posts: 176
Joined: June 2nd, 2013, 2:36 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: New Mame setup

Post by Dache » April 27th, 2019, 7:16 pm

See if the monitor works all the way from boot to Windows for you. I've never had that with my 29E31S with an ATI HD4890. The boot screens would work, but as soon as the Windows boot logo would appear, it'd lose sync. To this day I need to boot it with a 17" LCD, then swap VGA cables and turn my cab on to get a stable image. That's definitely not correct but I'm not sure what to try otherwise. Attract Mode has always worked well for me though. I just added it to the startup programs in Windows and it doesn't lose focus for me, which is odd, but a bat file with a delay sounds like it'd work just as well.

User avatar
invzim
Posts: 479
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:26 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
eBay: prrole

Re: New Mame setup

Post by invzim » April 30th, 2019, 2:34 pm

Got the PC yesterday and had a brief play, cpu wise it looks very very good. Not really super intuitive to get the super modes etc working. One issue I experienced though, is that it seems to refuse to generate modes >480 lines - monitor definition? Also, want to avoid ALL interlaced modes as it picks those even for games that are not interlaced.

I used the arcade_31k preset.
I make and sell cool Arcade stuff, check out https://irkenlabs.com/ - In The Name of Science!

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12795
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: New Mame setup

Post by cools » April 30th, 2019, 3:07 pm

Yeah all monitor definition.
Image

User avatar
penrhos
Panel Beater
Posts: 1477
Joined: September 11th, 2008, 12:08 pm
Location: Leicester - UK
eBay: ngpd002

Re: New Mame setup

Post by penrhos » April 30th, 2019, 8:26 pm

I'm working on a new setup for MAME too - I'm reading through here...

http://www.ukvac.com/forum/read-only-wi ... 66332.html

As I can get loads of W7 COA's from PC's we're scrapping at work and it's still the best supported OS for emulators.
2 * Vewlix Diamond Blacks,2 * Vewlix-F, 1 * Sega Rally 3, 1 * Video Pinball, 1 * DinoKing (JAMMA Converted).

User avatar
invzim
Posts: 479
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:26 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
eBay: prrole

Re: New Mame setup

Post by invzim » May 1st, 2019, 9:52 pm

Learned today that windows ships with a program called timeout, and with 7 seconds before attract-mode is launched all is good. Changing the arcade_31 monitor definition from 480 to 512 vertical lines and setting 0 0 for interlace fixed the modes, so afaik all is good now :awe:

Had another issue when switching from desktop CRT to cab, the 640x480 desktop resolution didn't 'stick' - this was most likely due to the monitor being PnP, and the driver discovering something 'new' when I plugged it into the cabinet.

Fixed this by jerry-rigging a small adapter that only carried RGB, sync and GND so the PC couldn't detect the difference between my PC crt and cabinet.
I make and sell cool Arcade stuff, check out https://irkenlabs.com/ - In The Name of Science!

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12795
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: New Mame setup

Post by cools » May 1st, 2019, 10:22 pm

EDID emulation solves that.
Image

Post Reply